Ghanaian trio wins Tanzania Premier League with Simba SC

Ghanaian trio Kwasi Asante, James Kotei and Nicholas Gyan win Tanzanian Premier League with Simba SC

Simba were crowned Tanzania champions for the 2017/2018 season on Saturday amidst losing their unbeaten run after a 1-0 loss to Kagera Sugar in the penultimate match of the season.

The capital-based club has wrapped up the league title with three games to spare but their celebrations turned sour after the former striker, Edward Christopher fired Kagera to victory with a strike six minutes from time in a game watched by Tanzania President John Magufuli at the National Stadium. Prior to that, Simba were unbeaten in 28 games.

The champions dominated the season, sitting at the top of the table for months, including a lone goal victory over eternal rivals, Young Africans, to cruise to the title.

Uganda born striker, Emmanuel Okwi was their star performance joining after a spell with Danish side, Sondersjke. The former SC Villa forward tops the scorer’s chart with 20 goals so far this season, six more than strike-partner John Bocco.

Speaking during the championship celebration, President Magufuli said he was pleased with Simba performance this season but urge them to strengthen their squad for the next edition of CAF Champions League.

“I want Simba to think of the African championship. I feel proud that they won a league in a style, but they need to think more about African titles. That’s the things we need as it makes us feel proud,” he said.

Simba only big achievement in African championship was reaching the final of the defunct CAF Cup in 1993, losing to Stella Abidjan of Cote d’Ivoire.

Related Posts