• Politics

    Read cryptic messages posted by Okudzeto, Sosu, Suhuyini after ‘betrayal’ votes by NDC MPs

    When the Members of Parliament from the Minority side (National Democratic Congress MPs) walked into the Chamber of Parliament on Friday, March 24, 2023, they went in with one profound message: we will reject the ministerial nominees of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

    Their reasons were that the government of the day, led by Akufo-Addo, was already too crowded and there was the need for it to rather be cut down.

    The leadership of the NDC party had also sent the same communication to the MPs not to approve the six ministerial appointees and the two remaining Supreme Court judges’ nominees.

    As an affirmation of this direction, arguments ahead of the vote on Friday, from the NDC MPs, all clearly indicated their resolve to cause the change for which many voted for a hung parliament: to keep the government properly in check.

    But then things went sideways very quickly after the Members of Parliament cast their secret votes later that evening.

    Surprisingly, and in what many have described as a betrayal by the NDC MPs, all the nominees of the president were approved by the House by an outright majority.

    The results were declared by the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, after extended sitting on Friday, March 24.

    Disappointed in the turn of events, some three MPs from the Minority side: Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, North Tongu; Alhassan Sayibu Suhuyini, Tamale North; and Francis-Xavier Sosu, Madina; put out some very cryptic messages.

    Shared on their social media pages (Facebook, Twitter, and WhatsApp), the MPs, through their messages, showed indications at their surprise and disappointment in the turnout of the votes.

    Here are their messages below:

    This is how the MPs also voted on the day for the ministers:

    Total eligible 275

    Absentees = 3

    Total valid votes = 272

    Hon KT Hammond, Minister for Trade and Industry

    Yes = 154
    No = 116
    Rejected = 1
    Abstention = 1

    Bryan Acheampong, Minister for Food and Agriculture

    Yes = 167
    No = 98
    Rejected = 1
    Abstention = 3

    Stephen Asamoah Boateng, Minister of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs

    Yes = 147
    No = 122
    Abstention = 3

    Mohammed Amin, Minister of State at the Presidency

    Yes = 152
    No = 117
    Rejected = 1
    Abstentions = 2

    Osei Bonsu Amoah, Minister of Local Government and Decentralization

    Yes = 149
    No = 120

    Abstentions = 2

    Stephen Amoah, deputy minister of Trade and Industry

    Yes = 146
    No = 123
    Abstentions = 3

    Source: www.ghanaweb.com

    Leave A Comment