Chelsea’s Jorginho and Thomas Tuchel named Player and Coach of the year

Chelsea’s Italian midfielder Jorginho has been named Uefa Player of the year beating team-mate N’Golo Kante and Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne to the top award.

Chelsea manager Thomas Tuchel took the men’s coach of the year award after leading the Blues to the Champions League title.

There were more awards for Chelsea as Ngolo Kante swept the midfielder of the year while goalkeeper Eduoard Mendy claimed the goalkeeper of the year prize after keeping 9 clean sheets from 12 matches.

The other winners were Manchester City’s Ruben Dias and Erling Braut Haaland who won the defender and forward of the year awards respectively.

Below is the list of award winners.

Men’s Uefa awards

Player of the year – Jorginho (Chelsea)

Coach of the year – Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)

Goalkeeper of the year – Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Defender of the year – Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Midfielder of the year – N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Forward of the year – Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

President’s award – Denmark captain Simon Kjaer and the medical team that saved Christian Eriksen’s life at Euro 2020.

Women’s Uefa awards

Player of the year – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Coach of the year – Lluis Cortes (Barcelona)

Goalkeeper of the year – Sandra Panos (Barcelona)

Defender of the year – Irene Paredes (PSG)

Midfielder of the year – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Forward of the year – Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona)


Related Posts